Hetzner - DokuWiki
Domain Robot Tutorial KK ausgehend/en
Deutsch • English
This tutorial describes the transfer of a domain from Hetzner to another provider using the Domain Registration Robot. Such a transfer is called a ChProv (change provider) or in German a KK order.
The basic steps are as follows:
- Generate an Auth-Code and share it with the new provider
- Wait for the successful transfer
The transfer of a domain from another provider to Hetzner is described in the article Domain Robot Tutorial KK.
The Auth-Code can be viewed directly in Robot by going to „Domains“ → <click on the desired domain> → „Auth-Code“ tab. If there is no Auth-Code displayed, please send us a support request.
The Auth-Code ("AuthInfo1") can be generated directly in Robot by going to „Domains“ → <click on the desired domain> → „Auth-Code“ tab.
The Auth-Code is valid for 30 days.
With .at domains there is no Auth-Code. In this case the confirmation of the domain transfer is done via an email that is sent to the domain owner by the nic.at (the central registry for .at domains), directly after the provider change has been started.
Wait for the Successful Transfer
After the transfer the domain is removed from Robot and you will receive a notification via email.
The provider change is performed automatically after the new provider has been given the Auth-Code.
After the transfer to the new provider has been started, we will send you an email with a link you can use to abort the transfer. If you do not click on the link in the email, the transfer will be automatically confirmed after five days.
Via our .org/.info/.biz registrar outgoing provider changes are automatically confirmed within five days.
After starting the provider change with the new provider, the owner of the domain receives an email from the nic.at, in which the provider change must be confirmed.
Delete the DNS entries
If the Hetzner nameservers were used for the domain, and if they are no longer needed after the provider change, they can be deleted via Robot.
To avoid downtime, the deletion should be done at least 24 hours after the provider change.
Despite the domain transfer, web pages belonging to the old server continue to be shown
This is normal, as the nameservers in the Internet temporarily save cache entries for mailservers, webservers etc. until the validity period (TTL) has expired and so do not recognize the new data. Furthermore, some providers ignore the given period of validity. However, the transfer should be recognized by all nameservers between 3 and 5 days at the latest.